Pakatan Harapan names Loke, Saifuddin Nasution and Dzulkefly for emergency committee

KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 21): The opposition Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition has furnished three names to sit on the independent special committee that will advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on the emergency in force until Aug 1.

The PH Secretarial Council in a statement here today said they are Member of Parliament (MP) for Kulim-Bandar Baru Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, Seremban MP Anthony Loke Siew Fook and Kuala Selangor MP Datuk Seri Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad.

"Saifuddin Nasution sent a letter to Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan today to furnish the three names," the statement said.

The statement was signed by Saifuddin Nasution (the PKR secretary-general), Datuk Dr Hatta Ramli (Amanah secretary-general) and Loke Siew Fook (DAP national organising secretary). 

The Emergency (Essential Powers) Ordinance 2021 states that an independent special committee shall be established to advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah, on the continuing existence of the grave emergency threatening the security, economic life and public order of the country arising from the Covid-19 pandemic.

Get the latest news @

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates 

Click here for more property stories

Looking for properties to buy or rent? With >150,000 exclusive listings, including undervalued properties, from vetted Pro Agents, you can now easily find the right property on Malaysia's leading property portal EdgeProp! You can also get free past transacted data and use our proprietary Edge Reference Price tool, to make an informed purchase.
  1. Parliament can convene during emergency, says King
  2. Mahathir, other Pejuang leaders allowed to intervene in lawyer's emergency challenge
  3. Muhyiddin and Govt move to strike out Khairuddin's suit on emergency proclamation