Covid-19: Sabah bars entry from four countries

KOTA KINABALU (May 3): The Sabah government has decided to bar entry of individuals from Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka into the state, as part of efforts to curb the spread of Covid-19.

Chief Minister Datuk Hajiji Noor said the move is also an important step to prevent the entry of new Covid-19 variants into Sabah.

“Exemptions to enter Sabah are given only to the people of Sabah, spouses and children of Sabahans.

“However, they have to comply with the 14-day quarantine procedure at gazetted quarantine centres,” he said in a statement last night.

He said crew members of ships that have a history of travel to the four countries in the last 14 days, are also disallowed to conduct the sign off procedure in the state.

However, he said exemptions are given to ships’ crew members who are Malaysian citizens, but it is still mandatory for them to undergo the 14-day quarantine at gazetted quarantine centres.

All directives are effective tomorrow (May 3), Hajiji said.

Get the latest news @

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates 

Click here for more property stories

Looking for properties to buy or rent? With >150,000 exclusive listings, including undervalued properties, from vetted Pro Agents, you can now easily find the right property on Malaysia's leading property portal EdgeProp! You can also get free past transacted data and use our proprietary Edge Reference Price tool, to make an informed purchase.
  1. Malaysians in North and West India to be brought back home — Hishammuddin
  2. Some KL malls visited by 700 Covid-19 close contacts – FT Minister
  3. Covid-19: Malaysia reports 3,551 new cases; figure above 3,000 for third straight day