KUALA LUMPUR (March 22): Four locations in the city have been designated “COVID-19 red zones” and placed under “intensive” watch by the authorities during their Movement Control Order (MCO) enforcement, the New Straits Times reported today.

These areas are the Lembah Pantai parliamentary constituency, Titiwangsa, Kepong and Cheras, Federal Territories Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa revealed today in a statement through Facebook.

“These areas are considered as Covid-19 red zones. Intensive monitoring will take place at these areas especially locations with records of positive Covid-19 cases,” said Annuar.

He also added that the Health Ministry had gazetted 11 locations including in Labuan under the purview of Federal Territories Ministry as quarantine stations to house COVID-19 patients. The quarantine stations will start operations tomorrow.

Annuar also called the on management committees of People’s Housing Projects (PPR) especially those in highly-populated areas to “play their roles to ensure minimal movement among the people, which would subsequently reduce the risk of COVID-19 transmission”.

“Apart from minimising movement among residents, the management committee should also take proactive measures such as maintaining the cleanliness of their respective flats or apartments,” he added.

The Health Ministry announced 123 new positive COVID-19 today, bringing the total number of cases to 1,306.

Ten people have died from the disease so far. The 10th person is a 74-year-old man who passed away at 4.05pm today.

  1. Malaysia's Covid-19 R-nought back to 1.0 — first time since August
  2. MySejahtera app administrator apologises for home surveillance order, person under surveillance errors
  3. New Covid-19 infection wave the main concern — Malaysian Employers Federation