Motion passed as 111 MPs vote for removal of speaker

KUALA LUMPUR (July 13): The motion of removing the speaker has been passed as a total of 111 MPs voted for the motion to remove Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof (pictured) as the speaker, versus a total of 109 votes against the the motion.

Deputy speaker Datuk Mohd Rashid Hasnon said the motion has been passed, before adjourning the sitting to 2.30pm.

Stay safe. Keep updated on the latest news at
Click here for more property stories

Looking for properties to buy or rent? With >150,000 exclusive listings, including undervalued properties, from vetted Pro Agents, you can now easily find the right property on Malaysia's leading property portal EdgeProp! You can also get free past transacted data and use our proprietary Edge Reference Price tool, to make an informed purchase.
  1. Covid-19 financing bill tabled for first reading
  2. Local government authorities can help state governments by revising assessment rate every five years – Zuraida
  3. Parliament to discuss COVID-19 in Kedah, Sarawak today