Some health districts in KL, Negeri Sembilan, Johor, Sarawak and Labuan join list of Covid-19 red zones

(This story has been updated with the full list of red zones.)

KUALA LUMPUR (Nov 3): The Ministry of Health (MoH) has listed 31 health districts and 58 sub-districts across Malaysia as Covid-19 red zones.

Based on data from Oct 19 until Nov 1, the red zones — with over 40 active cases of Covid-19 — are located in Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Sabah.

Sabah has 17 health districts classified as red zones, the highest by state so far. They include Lahad Datu, Kota Kinabalu, Sandakan, Tuaran, Kunak, Papar, Semporna, Tawau, Putatan, Penampang, Ranau, Kota Belud, Keningau, Kinabatangan, Kota Marudu, Beaufort and Kudat.

The sub-districts in Sabah categorised as red zones include:

  • Bandar, Silabukan and Felda in Lahad Datu
  • Laut, Likas, Pantai, Sembulan, Darat, Kg Air, Petagas, Pulau Gaya, Kionsom and Timbok in Kota Kinabalu
  • Sentosa, Karamunting, Beatrice, Berhala, Batu Sapi, Sibuga, Pantai Elopura, Trig Hill and Cecily in Sandakan
  • Pantai, Tambalang, and Berungis in Tuaran
  • Pekan in Kunak
  • Lanak/Kinarut and Pengalat/Kawang in Papar
  • Bugaya, Bum-Bum Selatan and Tampi-Tampi in Semporna
  • Sri Tanjung, Merotai and Balung in Tawau
  • Petagas, Lok Kawi, Putatan and Pasir Putih in Putatan
  • Kepayan, Penampang Baru and Inobong in Penampang
  • Ansip in Keningau
  • Tiga Papan in Kudat


Meanwhile in Selangor, Sepang has joined the list of Covid-19 red zones along with its two sub-districts: Dengkil and Labu.

Besides Sepang, five other health districts in Selangor have been classified as red zones, namely Klang, Petaling, Hulu Langat, Gombak, and Kuala Langat.

Yesterday, Malaysia reported 834 new Covid-19 cases, pushing the country’s tally to 33,339. Sabah contributed 503 cases or 60.3% of total daily cases, the highest among all states and federal territories.

Meanwhile, the Klang Valley territories reported 157 new cases, comprising Selangor (129 cases), Kuala Lumpur (22) and Putrajaya (six), while Labuan saw a spike to 105 cases from 18 reported on Sunday.

In comparison, Sabah had a total of 16,195 cases compared to Selangor (5,054), Kuala Lumpur (3,070), Kedah (2,128) and Negeri Sembilan (1,631).  

The states of Sabah and Selangor, as well as the Federal Territories of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan, have been placed under the conditional movement control order (CMCO) as announced by Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob due to a spike in Covid-19 cases. The government also imposed the CMCO in Nilai, Negeri Sembilan.

Get the latest news @

Click here for more property stories.

Looking for properties to buy or rent? With >150,000 exclusive listings, including undervalued properties, from vetted Pro Agents, you can now easily find the right property on Malaysia's leading property portal EdgeProp! You can also get free past transacted data and use our proprietary Edge Reference Price tool, to make an informed purchase.
  1. Former patient helps to erase stigma against Covid-19
  2. Covid-19: Singapore reports three confirmed cases of B117 strain
  3. Covid-19: Melaka Hospital still operational even with 32 staff testing positive