KUALA LUMPUR (Jan 21): The Ministry of Health (MOH) has detected 16 new clusters of Covid-19 infections, 11 of which are linked to workplaces.

Two clusters are from the community, two others are linked to high-risk groups, and another is related to a religious activity.

A total of 316 new cases were detected from these new clusters in the 24 hours as of noon today, MOH director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah told a press conference.

Of the 11 workplace clusters, three are from Johor, comprising the Jalan Sempadan cluster (in Johor Bahru and Kulai districts with 35 confirmed infections), the Tampoi Tujuh cluster (in Johor Bahru with 15 cases) and the Seri Bayu cluster (in Kota Tinggi with six cases).

There are two new workplace clusters in Kuala Lumpur, namely Jalan Terolak in Kepong (16 cases) and Pasar Borong KL 2  (involving Lembah Pantai, Titiwangsa and Kepong districts with 20 cases).

In Sabah, the Silimpopon cluster in Kalabakan has 29 cases, while the Ladang Sebrang cluster in Lahad Datu has 21 cases.

The two workplace clusters in Perak are Kota Muhibbah cluster (involving the districts of Hilir Perak, Kinta, and Manjung with 15 infections) and the Jalan Slim cluster in Muallim (26 cases).

The Jalan Canang Emas workplace cluster in Klang, Selangor has 13 cases, while the Orion cluster involving the districts of Kuala Muda, Sik, and Kulim in Kedah has nine cases.

Meanwhile, the two community clusters are the Kampung Tanah Merah cluster in Besut, Terengganu (15 infections) and Gunung Raya cluster in Langkawi, Kedah (11 cases).

The two clusters classified as high risk are Mandin Jaya in Seberang Perai Utara, Penang (29 cases) and Jalan Kelapa in Hulu Langat, Selangor (21 cases).

The cluster linked to a religious activity is the Taman Sejahtera cluster in Kampar, Perak Tengah, and Kinta districts in Perak with 35 cases.

Dr Noor Hisham said the active clusters with the highest number of cases are Pasai (88 new confirmed cases), Tapak Bina Dutamas (42) and Jalan Sempadan, Johor (32).

To date, there have been 701 clusters in the country, of which 374 have ended, including seven clusters that were declared ended today, namely the Kaya cluster, Enggor cluster, Perdana 6 cluster, Tapak Bina Jalan Tun cluster, Tapak Bina Darul cluster, Jalan College cluster, and Jalan Lapan cluster.

MOH said that in the 24 hours as of noon today, there were 3,170 new Covid-19 cases, the eighth consecutive day with more than 3,000 daily cases.

Twelve new deaths were reported, bringing the total tally to 642.

Get the latest news @ www.EdgeProp.my

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates 

Click here for more property stories

  1. Malaysia's Covid-19 R-nought back to 1.0 — first time since August
  2. MySejahtera app administrator apologises for home surveillance order, person under surveillance errors
  3. New Covid-19 infection wave the main concern — Malaysian Employers Federation