KUALA LUMPUR (June 26): Malaysia recorded 5,803 new Covid-19 cases today (June 26), down from the 5,812 infections seen yesterday.

This now means that the cumulative number of cases in the country stands at 728,462 cases, according to a tweet by Ministry of Health (MoH) Director-General Tan Sri Noor Hisham Abdullah.

Selangor continued to top the list of most infections, reporting 2,108 cases. 

In second place was Negeri Sembilan, which recorded 741 new cases today, followed by Kuala Lumpur with 628 new cases today.

Breaking down the new cases today, the Ministry of Health (MoH) explained that of the new cases today, 10 cases were imported cases, with the remaining 5,793 cases being domestically transmitted.

Meanwhile, 4,433 cases involved Malaysian citizens, while 1,360 infections involved foreign nationals. 

Of the 10 imported cases, three were Malaysians while seven were non-citizens.

Meanwhile,  new recoveries stood at 5,193 today. 

This means that the total number of recoveries now stands at 662,932 cases, representing 91% of the total number of cases.

As a result, active cases now stand at 60,646 cases, of which 866 cases are in the intensive care unit (ICU), with 435 cases requiring respiratory support.

The country saw 81 new deaths today, bringing the total death toll from the virus to 4,884 cases, translating to a mortality rate of 0.67%.

In a statement, Noor Hisham said that deaths today were comprised 30 cases in Selangor, 14 cases in Kuala Lumpur, 12 cases in Johor, nine cases in Negeri Sembilan, five cases in Sarawak, and three cases respectively in Pahang and Melaka, two cases in Labuan and one case each in Penang, Kedah and Terengganu.

Seventy-eight of today’s deaths were Malaysians, were the remaining three being foreign nationals.

14 new clusters today

Meanwhile, Noor Hisham also said that there were 14 new clusters today, bringing the total number of clusters to 2,755 clusters.

In total 1,887 clusters have ended, resulting in the number of active clusters at 868 clusters.

Breaking down the new clusters, Selangor contributed four new clusters, and Johor two new clusters, with Kelantan also contributing two new clusters as well. 

Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Melaka, Sabah, Sarawak, and Perak each contributed one new cluster.

Nine clusters were workplace clusters, two clusters were at detention centres, and two clusters are community clusters and one cluster was found among high-risk groups.

Get the latest news @ www.EdgeProp.my

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates 

Click here for more property stories

  1. No change in SOP on foreign tourists arriving in Malaysia, says Saifuddin Nasution
  2. MITA wants clearer SOP ahead of China tourist arrivals
  3. Penang to implement MOH-set protocols on China tourist arrivals