Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad

PETALING JAYA (June 26): The full line-up of the cabinet under the new federal government has been finalised, said Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad (pictured) yesterday.

Dr Mahathir, however, refused to dwell into the details and said he will make the announcement when the ministers are sworn in.

It was later announced that the swearing in ceremony will take place on July 2 (Monday).

Dr Mahathir, who is the Parti Peribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) chairman, was speaking at a press conference after chairing a meeting of top party leaders.

On another matter, Dr Mahathir says PPBM is mulling expanding into Sarawak but will not set foot in Sabah. He said other Pakatan Harapan component parties — DAP, PKR and Parti Amanah Negara — already have a foothold in the state.

“However, there is no need to go to Sabah because Parti Warisan Sabah is an ally to us there,” he said.

 Dr Mahathir also said PPBM still welcomes Umno members into the party, but would screen some of them. “We find that the culture and philosophy of PPBM is different with that of Umno.”

This article first appeared in The Edge Financial Daily, on June 26, 2018.

For more stories, download EdgeProp.my pullout here for free.

  1. Penang UMNO chief Musa Sheikh Fadzir is new KTMB non-executive chairman
  2. Prosecutor: Zahid was the boss and the boss gets what he wants
  3. SRC’s bid to amend RM16m suit against Umno to be heard on Nov 10