Four more Umno MPs deny supporting Anwar

KUALA LUMPUR (Sept 26): Another four Umno members of Parliament (MPs) who were rumoured to be siding with Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (pictured) to form a new government have come forward to deny their involvement.

They are Datuk Hasbullah Osman (Gerik), Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor (Putrajaya), Datuk Ahmad Nazlan Idris (Jerantut), and Datuk Seri Hasan Arifin (Rompin).

The four, just like other MPs who were part of a list of 19 individuals alleged to have pledged their support for Anwar which had gone viral on social media since Thursday, claimed that they knew nothing about the opposition leader's plans.

Hasbullah, when contacted by Bernama, described those who accused him of defecting and supporting Anwar's movement as liars.

"It is not right... supporting Anwar means supporting DAP. They are lying as I was not aware of this issue at all. I have not been contacted by any party. [These are] lies from [Anwar's] followers," he said yesterday.

Ahmad Nazlan was also shocked to learn that his name was listed as part of the 19 individuals, as he had never been contacted by anyone to discuss the matter and considered it an irresponsible act.

"In fact, I think Anwar's efforts to form a new government in this current situation is not appropriate because [it] poses a risk to the country's economy, while the Covid-19 pandemic has also not ended," he said.

Hasan, on the other hand, stated that he only found out his name was on the list when he was contacted by acquaintances over the matter via WhatsApp.

Tengku Adnan, meanwhile, said in a statement that the new government proposed by Anwar was just a pipe dream, and hoped that no one would believe the Port Dickson MP's claims.

"We in Umno have also decided 'no Tun Mahathir, no Anwar, and no DAP', so stop this speculation and we will continue the struggle to care for the people and remain loyal to Barisan Nasional," he said.

Yesterday, Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim (Arau), Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid (Padang Terap), Datuk Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub (Machang), Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh (Besut), Datuk Mohd Nizar Zakaria (Parit), Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abd Rahman (Pasir Salak), Tan Sri Noh Omar (Tanjong Karang), Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan (Pontian), Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin (Kinabatangan), dan Ramli Mohd Nor (Cameron Highlands) also denied their involvement in the matter.

Get the latest news @

Click here for more property stories.

Looking for properties to buy or rent? With >150,000 exclusive listings, including undervalued properties, from vetted Pro Agents, you can now easily find the right property on Malaysia's leading property portal EdgeProp! You can also get free past transacted data and use our proprietary Edge Reference Price tool, to make an informed purchase.
  1. Nizar Najib appeals against summary judgement over RM13m in unpaid taxes
  2. UMNO maintains support for PN govt — Ahmad Zahid
  3. Umno Supreme Council to decide on BN's direction