Guan Eng appointed member of Parliamentary Select Committee

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 12): The Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday passed a motion on the appointment of Bagan Member of Parliament Lim Guan Eng (pictured) as a member of the Select Committee for the 14th Parliament.

The motion, which was read out by Minister in the Prime Minister's Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar in accordance with Standing Order 76, was approved with a majority vote by members of the House.

Guan Eng replaces Home Minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin. The other five members of the Select Committee are International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (Barisan Nasional-Bagan Datuk), Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang (PAS-Marang) and opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (Pakatan Harapan-Port Dickson).

Get the latest news @

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates 

Click here for more property stories

Looking for properties to buy or rent? With >150,000 exclusive listings, including undervalued properties, from vetted Pro Agents, you can now easily find the right property on Malaysia's leading property portal EdgeProp! You can also get free past transacted data and use our proprietary Edge Reference Price tool, to make an informed purchase.
  1. PH leaders plan to meet PM next week over MoU with federal govt, says Guan Eng
  2. Guan Eng’s law firm made ‘big mistake’ when evaluating Penang undersea tunnel preliminary agreement — witness
  3. Nov 16 fixed for decision on Guan Eng’s bid to move undersea tunnel graft case to High Court